AS DEEP AS YOU CAN

POSTED IN architecture, archiv, art, conceptual design 15/08/2010

Exhibition of contemporary art

The conversion of the “Schwimmhalle Pankow” (indoor swimming pool in Berlin Pankow) into an exhibition hall for contemporary art is a project by Miriam Halwani, Anna Borgman and Candy Lenk

www.asdeepasyoucan.de

The “Schwimmhalle Pankow” will finally re-awake after 10 years of closure and after almost a year of preparation to new life as a space for contemporary art. “As deep as you can” will bring together eight artists in an almost forgotten place in Berlin: the “Schwimmhalle Pankow” for a unique event. Site-specific installations and paintings will fill it with life once again. Although the space has the dimensions of a museum, it’s history is undeniably present in the characteristic tiles, the swimming pool and starting blocks.

Each exhibited work plays with the circumstances in a unique way. The works center around the themes of the natural versus the artificial and austerity of form versus uncontrolled growth, and how these themes influence the hall from the outside and the inside, in the past and today. The sports facility was built by Gunther Derdau in 1971 and lies within eye sight and earshot of the popular outdoor swimming pool. Today it has become a non-place overgrown with wild plants and tagged with graffiti. All of the exhibition’s artists reference the specifics of this place.

Beyond the conceptual, all of works can be experienced sensuously: they take up space and have to be walked through or along ; they stimulate the senses through variegation, different textures, and angular or biomorphic forms. Through the deliberate interaction with the architecture of the indoor swimming pool they have an impact that they would never reach in the “white cube” of the gallery. (translation of press release by Dr. Miriam Halwani)


ANNA BORGMAN (Installation)

ANNELEN KÄFERSTEIN (Malerei)

CANDY LENK (Installation)

NICOLAS MANENTI (Installation)

SUSANNA MESSERSCHMIDT (Installation)

NORA LENA MEYER (Installation)

ANTONIA NORDMANN (Installation)

KATJA PUDOR (Installation/Malerei)

 

Vernissage with live music by Ralf Krebs & Martina Gebhardt 16.7.2010

Exhibition 17.7.-15.8.2010


TAGS : , ,

Loading

AS DEEP AS YOU CAN

POSTED IN architektur, archiv, kunst, konzeptionelle gestaltung 15/08/2010

Ausstellung für zeitgenössische Kunst

Die Umnutzung der Schwimmhalle Berlin Pankow zur Ausstellungshalle für zeitgenössische Kunst ist ein Projekt von Miriam Halwani, Anna Borgman und Candy Lenk

www.asdeepasyoucan.de

Nach fast einjähriger Vorbereitung ist es soweit, die Schwimmhalle Pankow (Berlin) – seit fast 10 Jahren außer Betrieb erwacht als Ort für zeitgenössische Kunst zu neuem Leben. as deep as you can bringt einmalig acht KünstlerInnen an einem nahezu vergessenen Ort Berlins zusammen: der Schwimmhalle Pankow. Mit ortsbezogenen Installationen und Malereien kehrt nun also endlich Leben in eine Halle zurück, die zwar Museumsdimensionen hat, aber mit ihren charakteristischen Kacheln, Becken und Startblöcken ihre Geschichte kaum verbergen kann.

Alle ausgestellten Werke spielen auf ganz unterschiedliche Weise mit den Gegebenheiten. Themen sind dabei: Natur und Künstlichkeit, Formstrenge und Wildwuchs, wie sie die Halle von außen und innen, heute und gestern prägen. Aus der von Gunther Derdau 1971 errichteten Sportstätte ist ein mit Pflanzen zugewachsener und graffititraktierter Nicht-Ort geworden; in Sicht- und hörweite des gut besuchten Freibads. Alle Künstler der Ausstellung nehmen auf das Spezifische dieses Ortes Bezug.

Über das Konzeptuelle hinaus, sind alle Arbeiten sinnlich zu erfahren: sie sind raumgreifend, reizen mit Vielfarbigkeit oder unterschiedlichen Texturen, kantigen oder biomorphen Formen, sie müssen abgeschritten werden und erzielen durch die bewusste Interaktion mit der Architektur der Schwimmhalle eine Wirkung, die ihnen im ‚white cube’ eines Galerieraums versagt bliebe. (Pressetext, Dr. Miriam Halwani)


ANNA BORGMAN (Installation)

ANNELEN KÄFERSTEIN (Malerei)

CANDY LENK (Installation)

NICOLAS MANENTI (Installation)

SUSANNA MESSERSCHMIDT (Installation)

NORA LENA MEYER (Installation)

ANTONIA NORDMANN (Installation)

KATJA PUDOR (Installation/Malerei)

 

Vernissage mit Livemusik von Ralf Krebs & Martina Gebhardt 16.7.2010, 19:00 Uhr

Ausstellung 17.7.-15.8.2010 Di-So 12-18 Uhr (montags geschlossen)


TAGS : , ,

Loading