THE SUBVERSION OF SPACE

POSTED IN archiv, teaching 04/05/2011

PARASITES: THE SUBVERSION OF SPACE is a project by Candy Lenk and Anna Borgman for a lectureship at the Berlin School of Art. (foundation course Spatial Design)

Parasites are abominable: they are small; they always arrive in numbers and when they do, they approach from the back or from below. They avoid all established mutually beneficial relationships and live exclusively at the expense of their host.

But parasites can also be responsible for the survival (functionality) of their host. They may even act as a kind of agent and thereby influence the host system. The host system cannot be altered in its nature, form, elements, relationships or paths. Yet, its state can be changed in small steps without any aggressive deformations. Initially parasitical elements represent a disturbance to the system: encouraging change, altering organizational relationships and increasing the complexity of the entire system.

A parasitical interaction is a descriptive model for the paradox between the resistance against a system on the one hand and the simultaneous ability to connect to exactly that criticized system on the other. A parasite is a transitional figure, that lives at the boundaries of definition and thereby evades the distinction between good and evil. It is not with the host, but it is also not against it.

The goal of project is the investigation of parasitical models in different spatial manifestations.

www.kh-berlin.de

 

Photo: the Cymothoa Exigua is a louse,
which eats the tongue of its host fish and establishes itself in place of the organ.

TAGS : , ,

Loading

DIE UNTERWANDERUNG DES RAUMES

POSTED IN archiv, lehre 04/05/2011

PARASITEN: DIE UNTERWANDERUNG DES RAUMES ist ein Projekt von Candy Lenk und Anna Borgman im Rahmen eines Lehrauftrags (Vertiefungskurs räumliche Gestaltung) an der Kunsthochschule Berlin Weißensee.

Parasiten sind abscheulich, sie sind klein, kommen immer zu mehreren und dann von hinten oder unten. Sie entziehen sich etablierter Tauschbeziehungen und leben ausschließlich vom einkommen ihres Wirts.

Parasiten tragen aber auch Verantwortung für das Überleben (Funktionsfähigkeit) ihres Wirts. Sie haben sogar die Fähigkeit als eine Art Erreger das Wirtssystem zu beeinflussen. Das Wirtssystem kann nicht in seiner Natur, seiner Form, seinen Elementen, Relationen und Wegen umgestaltet werden. Aber kann in seinem Zustand ohne aggressive Umformungen in kleinen Schritten verändert werden. Das Parasitäre stellt zunächst eine Störung innerhalb des Systems dar, es regt Veränderungen an und verschiebt Ordnungsverhältnisse, wodurch sich die Komplexität des Gesamtsystems erhöht.

Das Parasitäre ist ein Modell, das die Paradoxie der Widerspenstigkeit gegen ein System und gleichzeitig die Anschlussfähigkeit an eben dieses kritisierte System beschreibt. Der Parasit ist eine Figur des Übergangs, die sich an Bedeutungsgrenzen aufhält und sich dabei einer Differenzierung von gut und böse entzieht. Es ist nicht mit dem Wirt aber auch nicht gegen ihn.

Ziel ist die Untersuchung parasitärer Modelle auf Basis unterschiedlicher Erscheinungsformen von Raum.

www.kh-berlin.de

 

Foto: Cymothoa Exigua ist eine Assel, die die Zunge ihres Wirtsfisches auffrisst und sich an der Stelle des Organs festsetzt.

TAGS : , ,

Loading