TAUSEND METER

POSTED IN archiv, art, exhibitions, conceptual design 15/10/2014

[A Thousand Meters] Referring to the memorial of the fall of the Berlin wall Anna Borgman and Candy Lenk provide with their installation A THOUSAND METERS a steel fence of 1000 meters length as reservoir in public space. The installation formed part of the Urban Art Festival “Berlin Unlimited” and was on view in the Stadtgarten Moabit in october 2014.

The installation A THOUSAND METERS compresses 1 kilometer of fencing material into a cube of 4 meters height. Through compression the linearity of the fence is transformed into a compact block. The three hundred layers of overlapping identical grids reveals a new spatial structure inside the cube. What is on this side of the fence and what is on the other side, the familiar and the unfamiliar, dissolve in the depth of the installation. The viewer is able to take an in-between position and is visually drawn into the infinite spatial grid of the reservoir.

Every fence is the manifestation of a border; the fence makes the border physically perceptible. The presence of a border is the basis for the constitution and differentiation of space. It allows the detachment of one from the other. But inside the border things are also connected. There is no this side without the other side of the fence. The border as well as its spatial manifestation as fence are ambivalent constructions. They possess an inner dynamic. Their regulation as well as the erection of fences in order to draw borders are classic means of exercising power. The drawing of borders and acts of surmounting borders alternate in cycles. “One is never installed within transgression, one never lives elsewhere. Transgression implies that the limit is always at work.“*

* Derrida, Jacques, Positions. Transl. by Alan Bass, University of Chicago Press: London / Chicago, 1982. P. 12.

www.urbanshit.de

TAGS : ,

Loading

TAUSEND METER

POSTED IN archiv, kunst, ausstellungen, konzeptionelle gestaltung 15/10/2014

Anna Borgman und Candy Lenk nehmen den kommenden Jahrestag des Mauerfalls zum Anlass und stellen mit ihrer Installation TAUSEND METER eine Stahlzaunanlage von 1000 m Länge als Reservoir im öffentlichen Raum bereit. Die Installation ist Teil des Urban Art Festival „Berlin Unlimited“ und Anfang Okt. im Stadtgaren Berlin Moabit zu sehen.

Die Installation TAUSEND METER komprimiert eine 1 km lange Zaunanlage zu einem 4 m hohen Kubus. Durch Verdichtung wird die Linearität des Zaunes zu einem kompakten Block transformiert. Die dreihundertfache Überlagerung immer gleicher Raster entfaltet im Inneren eine neue tiefenräumliche Strukturen. Das Diesseits und das Jenseits des Zaunes, das Fremde und das Eigene löst sich in der Tiefe der Installation auf. Der Betrachter wird in die Lage versetzt, die Position des Dazwischen einzunehmen und in das unendliche Raumraster des Reservoirs visuell einzutauchen.

Jeder Zaun ist die Vergegenständlichung einer Grenze, der Zaun macht die Grenze körperlich wahrnehmbar. Diese Präsenz der Grenze ist die Basis für die Konstituierung und Differenzierung von Raum. Sie ermöglicht das Lösen des Einen vom Andern. In der Grenze sind die Dinge aber auch Verbunden. Es gibt kein Diesseits ohne das Jenseits des Zaunes. Sowohl die Grenze als auch ihre räumliche Materialisierung als Zaun sind ambivalente Konstruktionen. Sie besitzen eine innere Dynamik. Ihre Regulierung sowie die Errichtung von Zäunen zur Grenzlegung selbst sind klassische Mittel der Machtausübung. Grenzziehungen und Akte der Überwindung von Grenzen lösen sich zyklisch ab. „Man richtet sich nie im Überschreiten ein, man wohnt nie außerhalb. Die Übertretung setzt voraus, daß die Grenze immer wirksam sei.“ *

* Derrida, Jacques: Positionen. Hg. von Peter Engelmann, Wien 1986, S. 47.

www.urbanshit.de

TAGS : ,

Loading