THE DIRTY PROJECT

POSTED IN archiv, teaching 28/07/2011

The DIRTY PROJECT is a conceptual collaboration between Candy Lenk from architecture faculty (Spatial Design Department) and Grit Koalick from the computer science faculty (Institute for Software and Multimedia Technology) of the Dresden University of Technology.

www.dreckigesprojekt.blogspot.com

 

Nowadays the computer dictates artistic and scientific research and large parts of everyday life. This great success of the computer as a kind of universal machine is based upon the computer’s ability to convert one form of media into another using digital codes. The art historian Clement Greenberg, an advocate of “art for art’s sake” and a defender of “media purity”, would therefore describe the essence of the digital as “impure”.

Do ‘em dirty!

This project is centered around an analysis of digital media and the examination of its interaction with space. Space is understood here as a free realm of action on the one hand and a technical requirement the other.

In an experimental design exercise, the students explore the “dirty” borderlands of media.

Traditional composition and spatial design require decisions to be made, that will be permanently materialized. But what does the design of virtual, ephemeral, immaterial, limitless, arbitrary, interference-free space mean? In what form do the material limitations of space manifest themselves within the limitless possibilities of the virtual? What happens when they are brought together: virtually extended space? Restricted digital arbitrariness?

www.lehrstuhl-raumgestaltung.de

www.mg.inf.tu-dresden.de

www.visuranto.de


TAGS : , ,

Loading

DAS DRECKIGE PROJEKT

POSTED IN archiv, lehre 28/07/2011

Das DIRTY PROJECT ist eine von Candy Lenk und Grit Koalick konzipierte Kooperation der Fakultäten Architektur und Multimediatechnik der TU Dresden (Lehrstuhl Raumgestaltung  und Lehrstuhl Mediengestaltung am Institut für Software und Multimediatechnik).

www.dreckigesprojekt.blogspot.com

 

Der große Erfolg des Computers als universelle Maschine, die heute sowohl künstlerische und wissenschaftliche Forschung, als auch weite Teile der Alltagskultur bestimmt, basiert auf der Fähigkeit des Computers mit Hilfe digitaler Codes, Medien in andere Medien zu verwandeln. Das was der Kunsthistoriker Clement Greenberg, ein Verfechter der autonomen Kunst (Art for Art’s Sake) und Verteidiger der Reinheit des Mediums (Media Purity) als unrein, weil vermischt mit anderen Medien bezeichnen würde, bildet genau betrachtet den Kern – das Wesen des Digitalen.

Do ‘em dirty!

Im Zentrum der Arbeit steht die Auseinandersetzung mit digitalen Medien und die Untersuchung ihrer Wechselwirkungen mit Raum. Raum – verstanden als offener Handlungsraum einerseits und technische Bedingung anderseits.

Im Sinne einer experimentellen Ideenarbeit tauchen die Studierenden ein in die „schmutzigen“ Grenzbereiche der Medien.

Klassisches Gestalten und räumliches Entwerfen bedeutet Entscheidungen zu treffen, die sich dauerhaft materialisieren. Was bedeutet aber die Gestaltung des virtuellen, ephemeren, immateriellen, schrankenlosen, beliebigen, störungsfreien Raums? In welcher Gestalt offenbaren sich materielle Begrenztheit des Raumes und unendliche Machbarkeit im Virtuellen? Wie formieren sich Grenzen zwischen Faktischem und Virtuellem? Was entsteht, wenn man sie zusammen bringt: virtuell erweiterter Raum? begrenzte digitale Beliebigkeit?


www.lehrstuhl-raumgestaltung.de

www.mg.inf.tu-dresden.de

www.visuranto.de


TAGS : , ,

Loading