ECLYSE

POSTED IN archiv, teaching 31/07/2008

The ARTBASTARD project was developed by Candy Lenk for the Spatial Design Department of the Dresden university of Technology. The project’s focus is the experimental investigation of the boundaries between reality and simulation – the space between superficial appearance and actual being.

A zebroid is a cross between a zebra and a horse. The colonial troops of the German emperor William II used zebroids in Africa, since horses are not adapted to the tropical climate and zebras cannot be tamed. Zebroids are generally sterile and have a short life expectancy. They have currently become popular as pet and show animals in the United States. …

zebrapferd.blogspot.com

Spaces of dreams, fears or desires are nothing new. They have always represented the spaces that exist behind actual, material rooms. These poetic, virtual spaces superimpose and penetrate our concept and perception of reality at all times and in every situation. Technical innovation allows us to represent these „other spaces“ in new ways and let them merge with the real spaces to a new degree.

The overlay of concrete spatial structures and forms with photo and video material, and the imitation of space through reflecting or transparent surfaces also create something new that contains attributes of both worlds. A kind of oscillating space, that swings between superficial appearance and actual being; neither material nor light; neither reality nor dream; but rather both. It belongs to another kind of reality; a reality and architecture that is not constructed through superordinate temporal or spatial systems. Instead, with great ease, it celebrates the moment or the current situation as the entity to be constructed.


TAGS : , ,

Loading

ECLYSE

POSTED IN archiv, lehre 31/07/2008

ArtBastard ist ein von Candy Lenk konzipiertes Projekt am Lehrsuhl Raumgestaltung der TU Dresden. Schwerpunkt ist die experimentelle Untersuchung des Grenzbereichs zwischen Realität und Simulation – dem Raum zwischen schönem Schein und wahrem Sein.

Zebroide entstehen aus der Kreuzung von Zebra und Pferd. Die Kolonialtruppen Kaiser Willhelm II. setzten Zebroide in Afrika ein, da Pferde nicht tropentauglich und Zebras nicht zu domestizieren waren. Zebroide sind in der Regel unfruchtbar und haben eine geringe Lebenserwartung. In den USA sind sie gegenwärtig als Hobby- und Vorzeigetiere beliebt…

zebrapferd.blogspot.com

Räume des Traumes, der Angst, der Sehnsucht sind nicht neu. Sie markieren seit jeher Räume die hinter den realen, materialisierten Räumen existieren. Diese poetischen, virtuellen Räume überlagern und durchdringen unsere Vorstellung und Wahrnehmung des Realen zu jeder Zeit und in jeder Situation. Technische Entwicklungen machen es möglich diese „anderen Räume“ auf neue Weise darzustellen und in neuer Qualität mit dem Realen zu verschmelzen.

Die Überlagerung konkreter, räumlicher Strukturen und Formen mit Foto- und Videomaterial, die Imitation von Raum durch reflektierende oder transparente Oberflächen lässt immer etwas entstehen, dass Eigenschaften zweier Welten besitzt. Eine Art schwingender Raum, pendelnd zwischen schönem Schein und Wahrem Sein, weder Material noch Licht, weder Wirklichkeit noch Traum, sondern immer beides. Er gehören zu einer anderen Wirklichkeit, einer Wirklichkeit und Architektur, die sich nicht aus übergeordneten Zeit- und Raumsystemen konstituiert. Sondern mit großer Leichtigkeit die konkrete Situation, den Moment als das zu leistende Ganze feiert.


TAGS : , ,

Loading